top of page

Reaper's Claim - A Review

Alright, alright! I'm a part of Inkitt's Romance Review Club and got an ARC of Reaper's Claim for an honest review! And before you say I'm only basing my opinions on the ARC, I also got a copy of the finished book on Kindle. You can also find it here, on Amazon. Perhaps as a warning, I should say that I did not like this book.

Here we go;

This really wasn't my favorite book. One word came to mind when reading. Amateur. Let's start with the technical things that bothered me.

First of all, the prologue could be cut and the story would be unchanged. It didn't add much of anything to the story, it wasn't a gripping intro, it was just a question that could've been simmered down to an epitaph.

Next. There really was quite a bit of head hopping in this. Some sections were so short that it seemed pointless to include them. In one chapter the POV would switch 2 or 3 times (remember that some of these chapters are quite short). There were a lot of times that Reaper's POV was so short and people like Roach or Kim had a longer section. This bothered me because Reaper is more of a main character than Roach or Kim.

Which leads me to my next point. Cut the POVs of Roach and Kim. They added very little to the story and took away from the whole romance.

Also, this book is supposed to be a series, but the book takes place over years. That just makes it seem like it's a one-shot or the next book will have different characters. Personally, I'd say cut down the timeline. There were lots of parts that left you hanging and then the next line was "one year later". Not nice.

Lastly, the voices of the characters. They didn't really sound that different from each other. It was as if they all had the same internal dialogue. And these characters swear. All of them do. So what was with the "darn"s thrown in? It felt so childish amongst all the F words. It just stood out quite a bit and pulled me out of the story.

Alright, now as to why I did not like the content of the story.

I do not like the setting. That is personal preference, but I absolutely hated it. And here's why; they were violent people with no redeeming sides, Abby and her family were absolutely atrocious towards each other, and what was worst for me, there was no respect towards women. The feminist inside me was screaming. Honestly, I don't see how a woman would want to read this, let alone be swept off her feet by Reaper (who is no better than the rest of the bikers).

This is where things get explicit. I read the sex scene of when Abby was 16 and who knows how old Reaper was (that grossed me out). I wanted to gag. It was just fingering, but that doesn't mean it wasn't a sexual encounter and that doesn't mean it's okay for an adult to do that to a minor. Depends on the region's age of consent laws, but still this was just a bit too much. Here's why I also didn't like it; Abby orgasms from a finger? Are you kidding me? It was her first time, she probably felt more pain than anything. And if people would take a health class, they'd know that there are more nerves in the clitoris and that would feel more pleasure than a finger inside. Now that I've finished ranting about how that was unbelievable, let me also say that I hated the use of derogatory language in this. How am I supposed to follow in love with the hero when he keeps looking down on women and only wanting her "pussy"?

I feel generous giving this story 2 stars and I guess I'm really giving it 2 because a part of me feels bad to give it 1.

bottom of page